As we celebrate Thanksgiving Day tomorrow, it’s normally a time for one to reflect on all of our “blessons” from the past year.  I use “blessons” because a friend of mine and I used to talk about not only being thankful for all of the blessings we’ve had over each year, but also lessons we’ve learned along the way.

What comes to mind first of all, is the lessons I learned (and continue to learn) from both my grandmothers who gave me all the time in the world to cry upon their shoulders and solve all the “world’s problems” when I needed to most. They listened more than anything and then shared their wisdom.  Hardships endured in their lifetimes did not get lost in translation during our long talks. Frugal living, but living well, continues to be imparted among the older and younger generations in my family. I am watching my 20 year old find his way in the world now, weaving those lessons into his financial and personal future. It brings tears to my eyes to see him transforming into such a wise and wonderful young man.

I am thankful for my husband. He is by far the best cheerleader and best friend I have ever had.  He never skips a beat to be there when needed and is my rock. I never thought it possible to have met a person with all of the qualities that keep someone solid while letting me be the (quirky) gal God intended. He inspires me with his kindness in hundreds of ways he’ll never know about. Love that hubster of mine!

My family also thankfully mirrors lifelong lessons for me to see myself as I really am and to learn forgiveness and compassion (when I least feel like it). :0)  You can’t peel back the layers of self-reflection without seeing your loved ones as being an integral part of who you are.  At the same time, it frees a large part of yourself that you hopefully do share with the world. That’s a blessing to others.

Lastly, I am thankful for all of my hardships. Good and bad, they have brought me to this place where I can through this wonderful cathartic process, attempt to share with you some of life’s daily content. That being said, I hope you can reflect upon your day of Thanksgiving and have similar thoughts and hopes for the upcoming year. As my Nan Beall used to say “Life is not a dress rehearsal”. Find your “blessons” and enjoy!

Jorgy~

